How Many Calories in a Fried Egg? Count the Pan Fat
One large fried egg has about 90 calories. USDA FoodData Central lists one large fried egg at 46 grams and 196 calories per 100 grams, which equals 90.2 calories. A small-to-jumbo fried egg is roughly 73 to 109 calories when estimated with the same cooking-fat allowance; the exact total is the egg's calories plus 9 calories for every gram of oil that remains with it.
By Olafur Panagiotopoulos, fasting and fueling journalist
That last clause is where breakfast arithmetic usually goes soft. During 12 years of coordinating meals, buses and weigh-ins for traveling teams, I could count eggs from a kitchen manifest. The oil that left with them was harder. “One fried egg” describes a dish; it does not document the pan.
What does USDA's 90-calorie fried egg represent?
The USDA FoodData Central entry for a whole fried egg specifies one large cooked egg weighing 46 grams. Its energy value is 196 calories per 100 grams, so the serving calculation is:
`46 g × 196 kcal ÷ 100 g = 90.16 kcal`
The same entry works out to 6.3 grams of protein and 6.8 grams of total fat per egg. Its derivation note says the nutrient values come from a recipe with “approximate ingredient proportions.” This is a useful generic reference, though it is not an oil-absorption trial.
Here is what the spec sheet does and does not disclose:
| Field | USDA fried-egg entry | | --- | ---: | | Eggs represented | 1 large egg | | Cooked serving weight | 46 g | | Calories | 90.2 kcal | | Oil or butter added | Not reported | | Oil or butter remaining in the pan | Not reported |
The missing fat entries matter. The USDA raw-egg entry puts a 50-gram large egg at 71.5 calories. The 18.7-calorie difference between that egg and USDA's generic fried egg is equivalent to about 2.1 grams of fat at the federal 9-calorie-per-gram factor. Call that an oil-equivalent allowance, not a universal absorption rate: the USDA record does not identify how much fat entered the pan or stayed behind.
How many calories does a fried egg have by size?
Egg size changes the starting number before the skillet contributes anything. FoodData Central gives edible raw weights of 38 grams for small, 44 for medium, 50 for large, 56 for extra-large and 63 for jumbo eggs. At USDA's 143 calories per 100 grams for raw whole egg, those portions contain about 54 to 90 calories.
The final column below adds the 2.1-gram oil-equivalent allowance implied by USDA's large fried-egg record. Only the 90-calorie large serving is a directly published fried-egg value; the other four are size-adjusted estimates.
| Egg size | USDA edible weight | Egg before added fat | Estimated fried calories* | | --- | ---: | ---: | ---: | | Small | 38 g | 54 kcal | 73 kcal | | Medium | 44 g | 63 kcal | 82 kcal | | Large | 50 g | 72 kcal | 90 kcal | | Extra-large | 56 g | 80 kcal | 99 kcal | | Jumbo | 63 g | 90 kcal | 109 kcal |
\*Estimate adds 18.7 calories, the oil-equivalent difference in the USDA large-egg entries.
Carton weights answer a different question. The USDA AMS 56 shell-egg standard defines size by minimum net weight per dozen, including shell: 18 ounces for small, 21 for medium, 24 for large, 27 for extra-large and 30 for jumbo. Calorie calculations should use FoodData Central's edible grams rather than the shell-on weight printed into that standard.
How can you measure the pan oil that stays with the eggs?
There is no fixed percentage of pan oil that stays with a fried egg. Pan surface, heat, cooking time, the egg's spread and what the cook does with the oil after frying can all change the result. USDA's fried-egg spec sheet leaves both oil added and oil remaining unreported.
For a measured batch, use this accounting equation:
`retained oil = oil added − recoverable oil remaining`
Suppose two eggs are cooked in 9.0 grams of olive oil. The starting quantity is verifiable from the USDA olive-oil spec sheet, which assigns 4.5 grams to one teaspoon; two teaspoons equal 9.0 grams. If post-cook recovery on a scale measures 4.0 grams of oil remaining, 5.0 grams traveled with the two eggs. At 9 calories per gram, that is 45 added calories for the batch, or 22.5 per egg. Two large eggs start at about 143 calories, so the measured batch totals about 188 calories, or 94 per egg.
The 4.0-gram remainder in that example is a hypothetical scale reading, not a USDA estimate. A home scale may also capture water or egg residue with the leftover oil. My preference for food logs is therefore conservative: count all 9.0 grams added unless clean residual oil can be recovered and weighed. Counting all of it would add 81 calories to the two-egg batch.
Is a fried egg white simply a lower-calorie fried egg?
A large egg white starts at about 17 calories, but replacing a whole egg with a white changes the food and the frying geometry. The USDA egg-white entry gives a large white as 33 grams, with 3.6 grams of protein and virtually no fat. The corresponding 17-gram yolk contributes about 55 calories, 2.7 grams of protein, 4.5 grams of fat and 139 milligrams of choline.
Removing the yolk removes most of the egg's calories and its concentrated choline, vitamin A and vitamin D. FoodData Central provides the cited white as raw and has no matching fried-white portion in its SR Legacy entries. The whole fried egg's 2.1-gram fat allowance therefore does not transfer as a sourced number.
The useful number has two parts. A large white itself supplies about 17 calories. Any butter or oil retained during pan cooking must be added separately; one fully retained 4.5-gram teaspoon of olive oil would lift that serving to about 57 calories.
What calorie number should you log for your fried egg?
Use 90 calories for one large, conventionally fried egg when the cooking details are unavailable. That is the closest standardized answer because it comes from USDA's named fried preparation and 46-gram serving.
At home, start with the size-specific egg calories in the table and add all measured cooking fat. Subtract residual oil only when it can be recovered and weighed with reasonable confidence. For several eggs sharing one pan, calculate retained fat for the batch, multiply its grams by 9, then divide by the number of eggs actually served.
A restaurant egg glistening in butter may exceed the 90-calorie reference, but the menu description cannot supply a defensible correction. I would record the uncertainty rather than invent an absorption percentage. On tournament manifests, a blank fat column meant precisely that: the egg count was measured; the pan contribution was unknown.
Fried egg calorie FAQ
Are fried eggs good on a diet?
Fried eggs can fit a calorie-controlled diet when the portion and cooking fat are counted. One generic USDA large fried egg supplies about 90 calories and 6.3 grams of protein. Two eggs cooked in an unmeasured pool of oil are a different entry from one egg released from a lightly greased nonstick pan. Whether that serving suits a particular diet depends on the full eating pattern and the person's health needs; I report the calorie protocol, while a clinician has to adapt it for a medical condition.
How many calories are in two fried eggs?
Two USDA-style large fried eggs contain about 180 calories and weigh 92 grams cooked. If the fat is measured separately, two large eggs begin at about 143 calories before added fat; add 9 calories for each gram of oil retained by the pair. Five retained grams would put the two-egg serving at about 188 calories.
What is the lowest-calorie way to eat eggs?
For a whole large egg, poaching in water or cooking without added fat keeps the serving close to the egg's own 72 calories. FoodData Central lists a large poached egg at about 72 calories and a large hard-boiled egg at about 78; that database difference reflects distinct analyzed or calculated entries, not calories created by boiling. A large egg white cooked without fat is lower at about 17 calories, though it omits the yolk and its choline, vitamins and fat.
How many calories are in a fried egg cooked in butter?
A large egg cooked with one 5-gram pat of salted butter has up to about 107 calories if all the butter is eaten: roughly 72 from the egg plus 36 from the butter. The USDA salted-butter entry lists 717 calories per 100 grams and defines one pat as 5 grams. Do not add that butter again to USDA's generic 90-calorie fried-egg value, because the generic value already includes a cooking-fat allowance.
How many calories are in a fried egg with olive oil?
A large egg fried in one teaspoon of olive oil has up to about 111 calories if the full teaspoon reaches the plate. USDA lists one teaspoon of olive oil as 4.5 grams and about 40 calories; adding it to the egg's 71.5-calorie baseline gives 111.3. If 2 grams of that oil remain recoverable in the pan, count the 2.5 grams retained instead, for a total near 94 calories.
How much pan oil stays with the egg?
USDA publishes no standard oil-retention number for one fried egg. Its generic fried-egg entry represents one 46-gram large egg but reports neither oil added nor oil left in the pan. For a measured answer, subtract recoverable residual oil from oil added, multiply the retained grams by 9 calories, and divide by the number of eggs cooked. When the remainder cannot be isolated and weighed, counting all oil added avoids an unverified low estimate.
Where do these calorie figures come from?
- USDA FoodData Central's fried whole egg, FDC 173423, supplies the 46-gram serving, 196 calories per 100 grams and the recipe-derivation note.
- USDA FoodData Central's raw whole egg, FDC 171287, supplies the edible size weights and the 143-calorie-per-100-gram baseline.
- USDA AMS 56, United States Standards, Grades, and Weight Classes for Shell Eggs, supplies the shell-on weight classes used for cartons.
- 21 CFR § 101.9(c)(1)(i)(B) supplies the federal general energy factors of 4 calories per gram for protein, 4 for carbohydrate and 9 for total fat.